A closet project

I have a small bedroom.   I try to focus on what I like about the room. I have a large south facing window. I like the yellow walls and the green bed. I have a good ceiling fan and a ‘just the right size’ bookcase. But the closet is small and I have a love/hate relationship with my black wire shelving unit in the corner of the room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I love it because it holds lots of stuff, is easy to keep tidy and I can see all my choices easily. On the hate side I didn’t like having a huge stack of clothes in the corner of my small room.

When I first set up the room I tried to buy a small wicker armoire off Craig’s List but it didn’t work out.  I decided to use this black wire shelf that we already had until I found what I was looking for.  I kept looking for a few months but never really found anything that would fit the space well.  A year later I was still using the shelf.

That does not mean that I had given up on finding a solution.  Moving away from the armoire idea I began to study my closet.  There was some vertical space I wasn’t using and I researched possible shelving additions.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The before shot of my closet.  On the top shelf all I had were my pajamas. (yes my clothes are pretty much always this neat.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had  a six cube storage piece on the other side of the closet that I used for some summer items.

I have to admit I am a big fan of Cube Storage systems.  I have one in my office that I love.   It is very versatile.

I decided the answer was…more Cubes!

I put a second 6 cube piece on the left side of the closet.  I put a 9 cube piece where the wire shelf was.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I turned the clothes on the top row on their sides to make them easier to reach.  I may still need a step stool though. This side has my winter items: sweaters, sweatshirts, long sleeve t-shirts.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This side has my summer items: shorts, capris, t-shirts.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the five bins I put my pj’s, workout t-shirts and bathing suits.  Now I also have a place to put the books and magazines that had been piled on the floor next to the bed.

I need to live with it for awhile and see how it feels.  I am wondering if it is going to be a pain keeping the piles neat, too hard to reach the items on the top shelf or if I am just not going to like it.  I am disappointed that I didn’t instantly fall in love with my new system but I am going to give it some time.  It will be easy enough to undo if it doesn’t work out.

An added bonus was another round of clothing purging.  It gets easier each time to be more honest about which clothes I really don’t like, don’t wear or don’t fit comfortably.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two more bags of clothes for Goodwill.

So there you have it, one more idea for an inexpensive closet makeover.

Leave a Reply

