Small Victories

The word for the week is capable.  That is how I am feeling these days, accomplishing all sorts of non-routine tasks.

#1 The pile for Goodwill was getting quite large, especially after the room swap so I finally threw it all in the trunk of my car and dropped it off!

Filled trunk for Goodwill
Filled trunk for Goodwill

#2 I went 4 days without checking Facebook and then I very deliberately checked.  Apparently it was a “simple” matter of mindfulness and breaking a habit. I am no longer checking FB every time I get on the computer.

#3 I reached my goal weight window. I like to be in a 5 pound window for my weight and for the last few months I have been 1 to 2 pounds over it. I know that doesn’t seem like a big deal but I am more worried about the “it’s 2 pounds now and then 4 pounds” etc never ending gradual climb. So the time to nip it in the bud is now. I would like to blame the weight gain on my thyroid but I know I  have been doing way too much snacking.
I opted to try something new. I ate the same breakfast and lunch everyday.  I didn’t want to have to think about food so much.  I also planned a morning and afternoon snack that I only ate if needed.  I frequently skipped the morning snack.
I had some hiccups with lunch the first few days as I ended up eating lunch out three days in a row which is a very rare occurrence.  But I made sensible choices and on Sunday morning I had just edged into my weight window.   I am giving the same diet another go this week to try and get more towards the middle of my weight window.
I don’t think what I ate was overly important, you just have to find something that you know you can stick with and isn’t too unhealthy. In case you are curious though:

B- one fried egg, one sausage patty and one grapefruit
Morning snack – greek yogurt
L- 1/2 can tuna in olive oil mashed up with 1/2 an avocado and 1 chopped tomato, sometimes I also ate a banana or some cherries if I was still hungry
Afternoon snack- homemade smoothie

Dinner I just kept sensible, lots of veggies and lean meat/poultry.  I tried to make sure I kept well hydrated and avoided milk and ice cream and wheat which I believe I have developed a sensitivity to since my thyroid problems began. And of course I skipped most of  the junk food (still, a few dark chocolate covered almonds snuck into my mouth somehow).

#4 While Powell’s bought a fair number of my Library of America books I still had one small boxful that I couldn’t quite bring myself to donate but wasn’t sure how to try and sell them.  I now have a plan!  In October I am going to post a few of my son’s more valuable outgrown toys on Craigslist and I will post the books at the same time.  It is worth a try and then I can use the money for Christmas.

#5 Most of the time I donate my purged clothes to Goodwill.  For my son’s clothes I sort out the items still in good shape and take to Once Upon A Child, a kids used clothing store.  Sadly they do not have one here in Tucson but there are several in the Phoenix area so once or twice a year we make the trip. (We usually combine it with seeing a basketball or baseball game.)  This works well for his clothes and some of the toys.  For instance, this trip I got $65 credit and bought $80 worth of stuff.  My son got everything he needs for school/winter and I only paid $15.  That makes me happy! (Would have almost broke even but we splurged on a new $12 tie.)

#6  I started work on my needlework Haunted House in January with hopes of finishing it before Halloween.  And I did, two months early no less!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

#7  When my new lampshade arrived in the mail I realized it wasn’t going to work.  It was the perfect size and I loved the plaid but it was more like an over sized chandelier shade and the part that fits over the socket for the bulb was too small (I looked it up and I believe this is called an Uno Fitter).  I was really bummed and then wondered if I could just remove the Uno Fitter.  I tried tin snips and  the blade off a hacksaw to no avail.  About to give up I decided to go to Ace Hardware and see if they had a solution.  I love my local Ace, they truly are helpful as well as friendly.  Thirty seconds later, voila, the uno fitter is gone, no charge.  Thank you Ace Hardware!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Love the plaid!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The problem piece now removed.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
See how perfectly it fits?

 

So there you have it, a whole lot of productive happiness here in the desert!

 

Leave a Reply

