A Day “Off”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Found autumn color on the Mogollon Rim

In my bullet journal I had written in Wed, Oct 21st as my day off. In ink. Coming back from our marvelous camping trip I didn’t quite feel the need for a day off anymore but it was in my bullet journal. In ink. So I took the day off.

Here is what I did:

  • three loads of laundry
  • watched ‘Gilmore Girls’ and ‘Home Fires’
  • made a batch of reese’s pieces oatmeal cookie dough (my absolute favorite autumn cookie!)
  • finished reading my library book and started my next Miss Marple novel
  • I ate a croissant for breakfast while it was raining and had a slice of homemade dutch apple pie (made the day prior) with my son after school, while it was raining
  • for dinner I made pumpkin sausage penne (interestingly good)

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pumpkin-Sausage Penne.  Creamy, tasty lusciousness! 

I don’t think I needed a day off so much as I needed a day at home.  I wore comfy pants and enjoyed the rain, my house all decorated for fall and now Halloween, good smells and the freedom to do what I wanted.  I ended up getting quite a few bits of my imaginary Monday!

It was hard coming back to Tucson after five marvelous days of autumn up in the mountains.  The air was crisp and I got to wear long sleeves.  We did some hiking and a lot of sitting around the camp fire.  I was even blessed with a bit of solitude while my husband and son kayaked and rode bikes.  The best part was I slept ten solid hours every night.  It was glorious. I didn’t take a lot of pictures, I mostly just soaked everything in.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
For a moment I thought we had wandered off the path into Wonderland.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Only a sprinkle of rain but we still got a rainbow!
Leave a Reply

