The Ability To Do Nothing

I wish I had this ability. And what exactly would the definition of ‘nothing’ be?  Meditating?  Sitting in the sun?  Staring mindlessly at the television? Hmm.

Anyway, I have been fighting this oddball sinus issue that could last weeks more. Things are getting better but I still have bouts of vertigo and the occasional headache. I have been trying to take things easy but…. while the last thing I want is to be sick at Christmas (which happened last year and really sucked) there is just so much to do.

I have always been a work first and then play kind of girl but the problem with being a stay at home mom is the work is never done. I have been struggling mightily with trying to balance my life. I am making progress in the right direction.  I am doing much better with single tasking, taking breaks and focusing on enjoying tasks, or at least the results from chores.

I have every intention of feeling joy with everything I do the entire holiday season.  I may not succeed but I certainly intend to try.  And if a task isn’t bringing me joy in some way why am I doing it?  My holiday season will run from December 6th, St. Nicholas’s birthday through January 6th, Epiphany.  Lots of fun stuff is planned but I will be sure to include some down days as well.

This week will be busy with all those once a month tasks:  church Guild meeting and luncheon, change counting and once a month bowling league.  Hoping to get most of the Christmas shopping finished too.  And I have to put away autumn which always makes me a little sad.  Autumn is by far my favorite season and I feel annoyed when everyone rushes into Christmas  before Thanksgiving is even over.

But the two weeks after this one?  I will be happy to spend lots of time at home wrapping and baking and adding decorations gradually.   I even plan to find some moments to simply sit and take it all in.

IMG_6432

I did get this Christmas beauty out to use for the Guild luncheon tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

