And All Was Merry and Bright

IMG_6434

How to light a fireplace when it is 80 degrees.

 

I am joyfully spending most of this week at home, holed up wrapping and baking and decorating. Last week? We had frustrating Friday, melt down Saturday and Bah Humbug Sunday. Who knew Monday would bring peace and contentment? Actually, I did.

So the plan was to have most of the holiday shopping done last week. I accomplished that. Whew. But it wasn’t without it’s hiccups. On Friday I had the smart idea to stop at one shopping area with three stores I needed to visit: toy store, dollar store and pet store. Bonus because it was right on the way to the base and commissary shopping. So efficient!  But then I had to go back twice, first because I forgot a bag at the dollar store and the second time to return the scooter I had way overpaid for.  So much for efficiency.

Saturday involved putting up the outside decorations and lights.  Enough said. By the time we got done it was dark, we were tired  and it was too late to start the red cabbage meant for dinner and “A Christmas Story” night.  So I made the executive decision that chinese food would also be perfect with the movie and tasked my husband with dinner.

By Sunday I was tired of all the totes in the house and trying to figure out how to decorate.  Last year’s decorating made me very happy.  I was pleased with where everything went.  I read the brilliant idea of putting decorations away by room so that is what I did.  Only this past summer we rearranged rooms and furniture so I needed a new plan.  I can’t seem to get things just right this year.  For now I am going with the “good enough” method.  I am really happy with the kitchen and family room and that is where we spend most of our time anyway.  And the living room will be fine once we put up the artificial family tree this weekend.  At least that is what I am telling myself. (Santa’s live tree will go up in the family room Christmas week.)

 

IMG_6437

Decorating is all about the lights this year.

 

Now the totes are back in the garage, the over-priced scooter ordered online for $45 less (with the bonus of having fewer days I need to keep it hidden!) and the dining room has been turned into gift wrapping central.  The house smells of gingerbread baked this morning, laundry is tumbling in the dryer and I just got back from taking the dog on a long winter’s walk (okay sunny and 80 degrees not exactly wintry but the forecast says that is about to change.  Yippee!).  I am reveling in my solitude and Christmas preparations.  Make sure to find some peace for yourself in the coming days, please.

IMG_6442

My snow in the desert!  originally I only had 3 large snowflakes hanging down but I didn’t love it.  After browsing Pinterest I realized more would be better!

 

 

Leave a Reply

