Change of Season

IMG_6454

It was a relief to flip the calendar to March. With 16 days 80° or warmer it is nice to see the word Spring on the calendar. Every time I looked at February I thought I was on the wrong month since it felt more like April!

IMG_6455

I walked the dog this morning about 9:30.  It was warm enough not to wear a jacket and a light layer of cloud cover kept the sun from feeling too harsh.

 

Lots of bird song and buzzing bees in the air.

IMG_6469

The trees are still bare but that meant I could see this bird (right in the center).

 

IMG_6463

Turns out it is really hard to get a picture of a bee but can you see the two blurs?

Not too many flowers out yet but I found a few.

IMG_6472

 

IMG_6468

Love these little daisy like flowers right next to the walkway to the school.

 

The blossoms on the lemon tree smell wonderful.

IMG_6449

 

I did my winter pruning of the rose bush in January and it has leafed out wonderfully, I even have a few buds.  Rose bushes aren’t supposed to do well here in pots but I keep it in the shade during the summer afternoons and just let it get a bit of early morning sun during the worst of the heat.

IMG_6451

 

I have had this chrysanthemum for four years now!  I keep it in the shade all summer and somehow it survives the heat.

IMG_6453

 

It is too wonderful having a bit of year around green in the neighborhood.  I wonder how much water these bushes use?

IMG_6459

IMG_6460

I think they kind of look like hershey kisses.

 

HAPPY ALMOST SPRING EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

