A Visit to the Doctor

And the Doctor said….

“No more monkeys jumping on the bed!”  (Sorry, I couldn’t resist, that line is stuck in my head!)

But first let’s go through the events leading up to the appointment.

I was having all the symptoms of my thyroid medicine not being effective.  I was tired, cold, crabby and my skin was itchy.  I got my blood drawn and my TSH was .87?  That is the lowest it has ever been which should have meant I was feeling great.  Tired and crabby could be from anything but feeling cold and dry itchy skin say thyroid to me.

I had to wait three weeks for an appointment to see the doctor.  Over time I started to feel a bit better and I thought about cancelling the appointment but I didn’t.  That TSH level worried me. My dry skin improved as did the crabbiness a bit.  I still felt chilly most of the time and I was still tired.  But it seemed like a different type of fatigue from my usual thyroid symptom. Maybe it was related to perimenopause or low iron or something?  I was also feeling a bit edgy.  Not quite to the level of jittery but certainly a bit off.  I was starting to have sleep issues again, waking in the middle of the night and taking a long time to get back to sleep.  Was my thyroid medicine now too high? Or was it really the start of perimenopause?

I started to worry about what I was going to say to the doctor.  I think my body is trying to drive my mind crazy?  And she would respond, ” Yes it is and there is nothing to be done about it.  You’ll just have to live with it and hopefully after a year or two your mind will be returned to you.  That is what happens to most women.”

And then I had this wonderful dream scenario where the doctor said, ” I prescribe complete rest in the evening.  Between 5 and 6 pm you need to retreat to bed with a book or the couch and tv. Under no circumstances are you to prepare or clean up dinner.  You may be brought a tray with a light meal and a piece of dark chocolate. I will call your husband and explain this to him in no uncertain terms.”

So with a smile on my face I headed to the doctor’s office.

Here is what really happened:

I actually felt rather nervous going to the appointment.  I really was feeling better but the TSH result still bothered me.  What exactly was I going to complain about?  I mean, what exactly was my complaint?

My Doctor was wonderful.  She listened, she laughed at my nervous jokes and she gave some thought to my test results.  She said she doesn’t think I am crazy.  I had more blood drawn to test to see if I really am in perimenopause.

We also made a  thyroid game plan.  First up is an ultrasound of my thyroid. My thyroid has never been examined so she wants to make sure there isn’t any swelling or a goiter that isn’t overtly obvious yet.  At the end of April she wants to run a thyroid panel and see if my TSH level drops any further.  If it does she will look at adjusting my thyroid medication.  She said it was “interesting” looking at my TSH levels over the last three plus years as they have declined from 4.28 to 2.31 to 1.88 to .87.  I don’t think that is typical and hence the ultrasound.

So while nothing has been resolved  I do feel better mentally.  Steps are being taken and I feel like have a grasp of the situation.  I love being able to see the results of my tests online.  I feel much better informed at seeing the numbers and not just hearing “you are in the normal range”.  I am not sure if the doctor would have noticed the downward trend of my TSH if I had not pointed it out.   My doctor did confess that I was her first perimenopausal + thyroid patient and she didn’t know if going into menopause would affect my thyroid function.

For now I just have to wait, get the ultrasound done and go from there.  I will continue eating healthy, get my 10k steps a day in and deal with sleep issues as best I can.  I will take care of myself.

To be continued….

 

Leave a Reply

