B is for Books

Considering the fact that I read more than 100 books a year you would think I would write about books all the time. Yet I seldom do. Lots of other people write about books they recommend but I prefer to find most of my books by randomly browsing at the library.

I read to escape, to experience other times and places. To vicariously live another life for a brief span of time. Not much highbrow literature. I prefer my alternate lives to remain down to earth and easy to understand.

I am partial to mysteries and WWII historical fiction. I like to read “cozies”, novels with recipes and am partial to stories set in England. I like to read series but they have to be in order. I also prefer to read books set in December in December, summer books in summer etc.

I have a small notebook where I  write down books I want to read. I have probably had this little notebook for ten years. When I find a series I like I go on-line and list them all in order and then request them from the library (one at a time!). Pima County has a great library system and I love how I can order any book they have and they will bring it to my preferred branch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I didn’t realize my son’s stuffed quail was peeking around the curtain until after I took the shot.

Some of the series I have been or am currently reading:

Richard Jury by Martha Grimes
Apple Orchard series by Sheila Connolly
Walt Longmire series by Craig Johnson
Joe Pickett series by CJ Box
Elm Creek Quilter’s series by Jennifer Chiaverini
Both the Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth series by MC Beaton
The Diva series by Krista Davis
Kate Shugak series by Dana Stabenow
Meg Langslow series by Donna Andrews
Lucy Stone series by Leslie Meiers
Needlecraft series by Monica Ferris
Faith Fairchild series by Katherine Hall Page
The Ladies of Covington by Joan Medlicott
Aunt Dimity series by Nancy Atherton
Mitford Series by Jan Karon
Adam Dalgliesh series by PD James

Beatrix Potter series by Susan Wittig Albert

 

Series that I read with my eight year old son:

Junie B. Jones series by Barbara Parks

Puppy Place series by Ellen Miles

The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Henry and Mudge by Cynthia Rylant

Mr. Putter and Tabby by Cynthia Rylant (or anything by Cynthia Rylant!)

Any and all books by Beverly Cleary

 

These lists are not all inclusive but you get the idea.  I had to stop somewhere!  And I don’t just read series of course.

Here is a list of my recent library books:

“Pioneer Girl”  (The annotated autobiography of Laura Ingalls Wilder)

“The New Neighbor” by Leah Stewart

“In the Woods” by Tana French  (I had seen this writer mentioned on two different blogs and then she was mentioned in “The New Neighbor” and this book happened to be on the library shelf so I thought I would give it a try.)

“The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap” by Wendy Welch

“Small Plates” by Katherine Hall Page

“Wedding Cake Killer” by L.J. Washburn

“Death of a Chimney Sweep” by M.C. Beaton

“In Plain Sight” by CJ Box

Audiobooks for our drive to and from the Grand Canyon (also courtesy of the Pima County Library):

“Judy Moody Declares Independence”  by Megan McDonald

“The Teddy Bear Habit” by James Lincoln Collier

“Secrets of a Civil War Submarine”  by Sally M. Walker

“Encyclopedia Brown Finds the Clues”  by Donald J. Sobol

Most Favoritest Book from the past year?  “All the Light We Cannot See”  by Anthony Doerr.  Only book I ever wanted to start re-reading again immediately.  (Only I didn’t because there were still many people on the waitlist at the library.  But I am so reading it again this summer!)

So there you have it, a post of my book life.

 

Leave a Reply

