G is for Goals

A quick update on how I am doing on acquiring new habits for 2016 and my twelve areas to clean.

Around mid-March I realized I had lost sight of my goals for the year. I think this was because they are written in my bullet journal and I had started writing my daily task list in my day planner. I sat down with my lists and refreshed my memory.

First the cleaning list. I actually had four tasks already done (all associated with clearing out and organizing the garage) so I was ahead of schedule. But several of the tasks left could be rather time consuming so it is best if I don’t slack off. I decided to tackle the shredding. It only took two weeks of 10 to 15 minutes a day and I was done. Another task crossed off.

Next up will be working on my photos. I have the latest batch of printed photos to post in an album and I plan to do that next week. The more herculean task will be to label, group and purge all my on-line photos. I have more than 4,000 so this is going to take some time. I will have to spend say 15 minutes a day or maybe do a month at a time. Once I get started hopefully a good method will present itself.

On the habits side I am making progress.  Slow progress, but progress.  Some habits are very hard to get to stick.  Any interruption to the routine and I have the unhappy task of starting all over.  I would be referring specifically to my healthy eating goal. Right now I am on day five of the Whole30 and it is going well.  I will give details when we hit “W” which will be towards the end of the 30 days.

For March and now April I started a task tracker in my bullet journal for these four things:  walking 10k steps a day, 10 to 15 minutes of quiet time each morning, working on my upper arms and in March it was doing the shred and now in April it is meeting my blogging challenge.  I’ll add the photo work once it begins.

I have been doing excellent on my 10k steps a day typically getting in between 11k and 13k steps.  But now I have hit a hiccup, my treadmill needs to be fixed.  I love doing my writing while walking.  It seems to help hold my attention and I love accomplishing two big tasks at the same time.

Now I am scrambling to think of ways to get all those steps in.  If I walk my neighborhood loop it is 1,000 steps, boring but easily doable when the weather cooperates.  So I am trying to create a new routine where I walk a loop or two after lunch and after dinner.  We’ll see.  With walking the dog in the morning and walking to get my son from school I should be close to 10k steps.  I am also considering dropping my goal to 8k steps, just until the treadmill is fixed. If it even can be fixed, still researching that.  I won’t be very happy if I have to replace it.

While not officially meditation I have learned to greatly appreciate taking ten to fifteen minutes each morning to plan my day, sit quietly and maybe do a little needlework.  I am finding it very soothing and when I can’t do it it seems like my whole day feels a bit rushed.

In addition to walking I wanted to add some other type of exercise.  I have decided to work on my arms which are starting to get kind of um, flabby.  So each day I take a few minutes to do a few pushups and/or use my hand weights to do a series of exercises.

I feel like my plate is full enough for April with the A to Z blogging challenge and the Whole 30. Mid- May is when my son gets out of school so a whole new routine will have to develop then. I am hoping to remain flexible so that I don’t completely lose sight of my goals over the summer break.

 

2 thoughts on “G is for Goals

Leave a Reply

