I is for Introvert

More than twenty years ago I took the meyers-briggs test. For some reason the result is one of those random bits my brain has retained through the years. I turned out to be an INTJ:  Introvert, Intuitive, Thinking and Judging.  Yup, that’s me, except for the introvert I thought.  I figured it was a mistake.

The introvert part surprised most of my friends too.  When I was is the military I was pretty social.  Alcohol helped (a lot).  I never thought again about being an introvert.  A few weeks ago I retook a version of the meyers-briggs test and I came up an INFJ. What?  Now the Thinking/Feeling aspect was close to fifty-fifty, but the Introvert was like 75%.  Hmmm.

I googled introvert characteristics.  All twenty-three were me!!

And then the penny dropped.  I am an introvert.  Duh! That explains so much about my choices, actions and reactions over the years.  So many things make sense now.

It has been a relief to realize I am not some sort of hermit or recluse wannabe.  Or maybe I am.  I am simply wired to not just enjoy solitude but need solitude.  Quietness has always been my friend. Sometimes I wonder if I am the last person in the world who can drive alone in the car without the radio on.

Inability to make small talk, hating large gatherings, feeling exhausted after the Guild meetings are just a few examples of my introvertedness.  All those family gatherings in my childhood where I took a book and found a quiet corner?  Ahhh.

So now that the fact that I am an introvert has penetrated to my conscious brain what does this mean?  How can I use this new found knowledge to improve my life?  Um.  I think “T” time has been a good start.  It has been a bit hit or miss these last weeks, maybe now I will keep it higher on the priority list.  Maybe when I am worried that my head is going to explode (thank you menopause) I can simply retreat to my office or bedroom and close the door.  Perhaps, after an over filled weekend I can do a retreat on Monday.  Ensure I spend quiet time alone working on one of my many projects. As much time as I need.

I know I will stop apologizing for wanting peace and quiet because it is not a want but a need. And my needs are important too.

What do you do to support your needs as an introvert?  Sometimes I wonder just how much I can retreat from the world and still remain a functioning part of my family and society. As with much of my life happiness seems to be about finding the right balance.  Right now I am going to go sit quietly for a few minutes and enjoy a spot of peace and quiet.  I hope you have a great Monday!!

 

8 thoughts on “I is for Introvert

  1. Introverts can be confusing! I’ve always known I was an introvert, but I can also understand how it could be misleading. Rather than whether you like to be around people or not (because introverts like to be social too!), it’s where you draw your energy. When I’m with a crowd or in a group setting, I feel pretty drained afterward. On the other hand, my extroverted husband could do it all day, needing that socialness to recharge him. We both enjoy it at the time, it’s just what we do afterward that shows our true nature, haha. Hope that makes sense and hope you find some good peace and quiet for yourself!

    Like

  2. Hi fellow a-zer and hi fellow introvert – visited the site checked all the boxes – I have known for most of my life I was but had never seen it laid out like that before – since retirement life is soooo much better I can live the way that makes me comfortable:) keep smiling:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another Introvert here too! Coming from a family full of introverts who crave our quite times of solitude . . . we’ve learned to respect when another needs the respite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

