J is for Jump Rope

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cool clouds yesterday afternoon! (Much more interesting than a picture of a jump rope)

With the temporary demise of my beloved treadmill I have been pondering how to meet my exercise goals. Right now I am looking at a temporary change, I have hopes my treadmill will be repaired in a week or two. (You will just have to wait until ‘T’ for the full story!)

For now I have lowered my walking goal from 10k steps to 8k.  This is doable during the week, the weekends are more of a challenge.  To make up those 2k steps I have decided to…jump rope!  Like a kid again.  Only now I am an adult, a middle age adult.  With a middle aged body that hasn’t jump roped in a long, long, long time.

I love the idea of being able to jump rope again.  It is a great workout.  But when did it get so hard to do?  As a kid I was one of the many to spend my recess jumping rope.  I don’t remember it being hard or being winded or my knees hurting.  It was just fun.  Jumping rope at my age is not fun, it’s exercise.  I do so wish it were fun though. Maybe in time?  And if not, it is only for a week or two.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The sky was gorgeous yesterday, a nice distraction while jumping rope.

Besides, it is good to take advantage of the heat holding off a bit longer.  We have had some rain and lovely cool temperatures since Sunday.  A rare April desert treat, it would be a shame not to get outdoors a bit more.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Baby lemons enjoying a cool drink of rain this morning.

I am thinking 2 to 5 minutes of jump rope is equal to 2k steps.  Please don’t disagree, my knees don’t want to hear it.

Leave a Reply

