M is for Massage

Before the Massage

Since the beginning of the year I have been contemplating getting a professional massage. My back has been bugging me a bit. Nothing major, tight muscles and a bit of stiffness. I hesitated because I had a professional massage once before and I hated it.

About fifteen years ago, when I was living in Lockport, NY (near Buffalo) I spent a weekend at a posh resort in Niagara on the Lake, Canada.  I loved the pedicure and the facial and the localized gentle massages that accompanied both of them.  But when it came to the full body massage it was horrible.  There was something about the masseuse that gave me the creeps. To this day I never figured it out but I never did relax during that massage.  I could sense the masseuse’s frustration but couldn’t help it.

I have been going back and forth debating about trying a massage again. I finally told myself to “man up”.  It was one hour, if I hated it I would know and never try again.  Plus I needed a topic for ‘M’.  So I made the appointment at a nearby Massage Envy and wrote it in ink in my day planner.

On my way to the massage

What was I thinking?  I was thinking that it’s weird that in a few minutes I was going to be naked (under a sheet) with a total stranger in the room.  That is weird, right?  And I’d be completely sober.  Is this like a one night stand sans the booze?  The more I thought the more odd it seemed.  I was going to pay a stranger to rub my naked body.  Wait, now I am a ‘john’?  Then I told myself to stop thinking.  I was going to a shopping center with an Ace Hardware store, not some back alley in a seedy section of town.  I am lucky it was a short drive and my thoughts couldn’t go any further.  And it was too late to cancel the appointment without being charged.  And I realized I was just being weird.

 

After the massage

AAHHHH, I can’t believe I spent the last fifteen years without getting a massage!

4 thoughts on “M is for Massage

Leave a Reply

