N is for Nemesis

A few weeks ago I finished reading “Nemesis” by Agatha Christie. I was reading all the Miss Marple’s in order and that was the last one. Sad now. Guess I’ll have to start on Hercule Poirot. Happy now 🙂 .

I love the word nemesis: an enemy that is very difficult to defeat. It sounds so sinister but could be anything. That last five pounds. Dark chocolate covered almonds. That spare in bowling where a second pin is hidden behind the first. We all have our nemeses.

I love Agatha Christie too. If I was stranded on a deserted island her books are the ones I would want. (And “How to Survive on a Deserted Island for Dummies”.) Dead author to invite to dinner?  Agatha Christie. Know what I like best about Agatha Christie?  She wrote her first book on a bet with her sister.  But after that she started writing books for the money.  No angst or struggles over being a writer.  She just sat down and wrote.  Why can’t I do that?

3 thoughts on “N is for Nemesis

  1. I have always liked that word, not so keen on Agatha Christie more a D Sayers fan – had never thought of dark chocolate being a nemesis – like that thought a lot – I wonder what others are stalking me:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

