P is for Pecan Pie

And not just any Pecan Pie but Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie!! I don’t think I have ever posted a recipe before but I know I have posted pictures of food. I thought I would share this one because it is so tasty and just unique enough for me. I took this to bowling on St. Patrick’s Day and it was a big hit. This pie is best made a day prior so it has time to firm up, the filling is a little looser than your average pecan pie. This recipe is handwritten in my recipe book so I have no idea where it came from so I can’t give any credit. I know there is a similar recipe in the Fanny Farmer Baking book but I like mine better as it has more bourbon!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Before baking

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Preheat oven to 325°

In a small saucepan combine:  1 c. sugar  + 1 c. corn syrup  + 1/2c butter

Cook over medium heat until butter melts and sugar dissolves.  Let cool.

In a large bowl mix together:  4 eggs + 1/4c bourbon + 1 tsp vanilla  + 1/4 tsp salt

Slowly pour sugar mixture into egg mixture whisking constantly.

Stir in:  6 ou mini chocolate chips + 1 c. pecans

Pour into pie shell and bake 50 to 55 minutes until set and golden.

 

I have to say I seldom measure the chocolate chips and I usually add more pecans if there is room in the pie crust. You can use regular chocolate chips but I prefer the minis as they distribute more evenly.  For this specific pie I used the whole bag of pecan halves which was 2 1/2 cups and what I had left of  a bag of mini chocolate chips which was about 3 ounces I would guess. I used a large pie pan, 11 inches across,  because more pie is better!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yum!

Happy Eating!!

 

2 thoughts on “P is for Pecan Pie

Leave a Reply

