S is for Sketchbook

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
No pictures of the drawings yet because I don’t want to ruin the surprise for my friend.

 

My friend Joe and I both turn the big 5-0 this year. We always exchange small birthday and Christmas presents. He lives back in New York so we stay in touch mostly via e-mail. I wanted to do something special for our birthdays this year and borrowed this idea from Anne at My Giant Strawberry.

I mailed Joe my sketchbook and I kept his. We are each doing 12 pictures, one for each month. At the end of the year (or whenever we are done) we will swap sketchbooks back. Then we can do our companion pieces on the opposite page.

Neither one of us is a great artist but we both like to doodle and have no expectations of great works of art. So far it has been lots of fun. It is nice to spend a little more time thinking of my friend. It is a challenge to try and be creative within my limited talents but so far the ideas have come easily, if not the execution.  Working on a drawing is one of my favorite ways to spend quiet time in the mornings.

This is an excellent way to share a project with a long distance friend!  I am also thinking about doing a similar project with my son over the summer.

Bonus “S”

I finished my Spring Banner!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “S is for Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

