Summer Plans

IMG_5933

A really cool saguaro at Catalina State park. 

This is the last full week of school for my son! I know, I can’t believe it either.

The last few summers I have been all about hibernating to avoid the heat. We left the house only to get in the pool, go grocery shopping or a quick trip to the library. But I have to admit that last summer both my son and I got kind of bored after awhile. We never developed a good rhythm to our days like in  previous summers. With my getting older by the minute son he wasn’t as content to stay in with mom playing games and doing craft projects. I know I need a different plan for this summer. I know I am going to have to leave the house, oh the horror!

Taking into account the hot weather I have thought of both indoor and outdoor ideas.  A key factor is how many times do you have to get in and out of the car?  Climbing into the oven like car is the worst part so I have tried to find places where we can park once and go to two or three places in the same shopping center.

Neither my son nor I are morning people but we may have to bite the bullet and set the alarm a few days this summer and set out before the heat sets in.  I liked to think we could take an afternoon nap those days but who ever heard of an eight year old boy doing that? (Unless they were sick.)

So here are my ideas:

  1. Take a picnic and hike up at Mt. Lemmon which is like 10,000′.  It will still be warm but with some shade bearable.
  2. Get up early and go to McDonald park and then eat brunch at Viv’s Cafe.  We can also browse around Goodwill if so inclined.
  3. Visit Bookman’s  used book store and have lunch at Beyond Bread.  Also browse around Annabell’s Attic if we wish.
  4. Arizona Zipline adventure. (my favorite idea!)
  5. Early morning breakfast hike at Sabino Canyon. (Right next door we don’t even have to get in the car!)
  6. Check into stargazing opportunities.
  7. Early morning or night visit to the Reid Park Zoo.
  8. Visit the playground store.   I drove by American Play Systems and they have many different setups for the kids to try out.
  9. Paint at Ben’s Bells.

I am guessing we won’t get to all these things but it feels good to have a plan to keep things interesting.  What fun things can you do in your town this summer?

One thought on “Summer Plans

Leave a Reply

