Wednesday Hodgepodge

Bet you thought I forgot about trying this Hodgepodge thing.  Nope, here it is.  (And it was harder than I thought!)

Hodgepodgebutton

 

1. On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your summer so far? Why?
(1=eh and 10=best summer ever)  

I would say an 8.  It has been good except I missed doing our mountain camping trip much more than I thought I would.  Swimming has been really good this summer.

2. July 26th is National Aunts and Uncles Day. Did you have many aunts and uncles growing up? Were you especially close to any one or maybe all of them? Are you an aunt? (or uncle for the men who join here on Wednesdays) Share a favorite memory relating to one of your own aunts or uncles or relating to a niece or nephew who call you Aunt (or Uncle).

Ten Aunts and Uncles total and we all lived in the same city but seldom saw each other, once or twice a year typically.  While we were never a close knit family I do remember my Uncle Bob playing tag with all us cousins at a playground and taking us on hikes during a one time multi-family camping trip.

3. What’s your favorite food dipped in chocolate? What’s your favorite food dipped in cheese?

Almonds or coconut dipped in dark chocolate.  Dipped in cheese?  Hmm, not sure I have one.

4. When were you last astonished by something? Explain.

I fished a dead mouse out of the pool Monday morning and not only did I not blink an eye,  I didn’t think twice about getting in the pool right after for a swim. I am terrified of live mice, but apparently okay with drowned ones.

5. Surf board, paddle board, ironing board, Pinterest board, score board, clip board, bulletin board…which board have you most recently encountered?

Ironing board, when I made some more progress on my first attempt at quilting. I am making a  dresser scarf.  “All” I have left to do is the binding!  I am hoping to start work on the binding when school starts again in a few weeks.

6. What’s your favorite story from scripture? Why that story?

Luke 2:8-18   A baby, angels, shepherds, peace on Earth, what more could one want?

7. If you were to travel from the east coast to the west coast in your own country, which five cities would you most want to see?

I would take route fifty from Ocean City, Md  all the way to Sacramento, Ca and enjoy every little town along the way.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

It is too hot for thinking today.  I’ll stick with iced tea and a good book inside the air-conditioning. Just starting “Everyone Brave is Forgiven” by Chris Cleave. I loved his novel “Gold” and found “Incendiary” disturbing to read but not in a really bad way, more in a this story could be all  too real kind of way.

Here is the link to the Hodgepodge lady!

 

Leave a Reply

