Birthday Joy List

Today is my 50th birthday!!  I have to admit I am pretty darn happy I have lived this long! So here is my joy list from the past few weeks:

  • Getting a bunch of small, lingering tasks done.
  • The public library (this would be on every joy list of mine!)
    • Some recent books from the library:
      • “Rebecca” (Daphne Du Maurier)
      • “A Fall of Marigolds” (Susan Meissner)
      • “Dead Wake.  The last crossing of the Lusitania” (Erik Larson)
      • “A Walk in the Woods”  (Bill Bryson)
      • “The Hiding Place” (Corrie Ten Boom)
  • Sitting on my swing at dusk watching the bats swoop around and knowing they are eating all those pesky mosquitos.
  • Two (in my lifetime) inventions that I find really useful:
    • the debit card
    • the DVR
  • Our local classical public radio station
  • Rain helping my rosebush bloom
  • The start of football season (Go Wildcats!  Go Broncos!)
20160910_192518
Some people put on their game face, I put on my game shoes.
  • My son getting to play outside more with the cooler weather in the evenings and the neighborhood bully moving away.
  • Cake for dessert tonight!  Specifically  Coconut Pecan Upside Down Cake (which my son and I are making together after school today)

 

Happy Birthday to me! And to YOU whenever your birthday is!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Last Year’s Birthday dessert at Disneyland.
2 thoughts on “Birthday Joy List

Leave a Reply

