December Delights 11 and 12

My own “candy cane” bush.

I am afraid the crazy busy is turning into just plain crazy. I long for a jammie day. I am still enjoying my morning walks with the dog and finding a few moments to color my picture….but the rest of the day? Yikes!

20161211_185214

An accurate depiction of an Arizona snowman (from Winterhaven)

December 11th

Last night we went to look at the lights of Winterhaven.  Winterhaven is a neighborhood here in Tucson that goes all out decorating for the holiday.  They cordon the area off from traffic and everyone either walks or rides one of a few different trolleys that are allowed in the neighborhood between 6:00p and 10:00p.  The event is free but they collect food and money for the food bank which I think is great.

In years past we have gone on a Friday or Saturday night and it has always been crazy crowded.  This year we went on a Sunday, much better.  Still a good crowd around the more elaborate displays but you could walk down the street without being constantly jostled.

I thought about not going but now I am so glad I did.  It was a perfect night with the almost full moon and temps in the 50’s.  I wore just the right jacket so I wasn’t too warm or chilly.  We went out to dinner beforehand giving me a pleasant break from cooking and dishes.   It was so nice to have a post dinner leisurely stroll surrounded by lights and a lovely winter evening.  The outing did much to restore my flagging Christmas spirit.

 

20161211_195029

This snowman is at least 30′ tall, almost to the top of the streetlight!

December 12th

Today I am grateful to spend the morning at home.  For an introvert I have been out and about waaaay more than I want to be.  But it can’t be helped and I am coping the best I can.

 

(Sorry the pictures aren’t better.  They look okay on my phone but I can’t seem to transfer them the right size or something and I am out of time!)

Leave a Reply

