Epiphany

Today is the last day of Christmas for my family. Tomorrow the tree comes down and we start packing up all the decorations. I thought I would feel sad but instead I feel a great contentment.  I spent time this morning sitting on the couch drinking a mug of tea while looking at the Christmas tree and nativity scene.  One last respite before the hustle and bustle of real life returns tomorrow.

My son’s second full week of winter break has been busy and satisfying.  I relished all the time we spent together even if it has left me feeling exhausted.  While I will not mind when peace and quiet descends on Monday that doesn’t stop me from embracing our one last outing today.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cool wisps of clouds!

In honor of the Wisemen’s journey to Bethlehem my son and I took our own hike.  We  went across the street to Sabino Canyon Recreation Area and meandered around for two hours.  The weather: absolutely perfect.  I think the pictures say it all.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Our own “forest” of cacti.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sabino Creek really flowing with snow melt.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sabino Dam

Cheers to the end of a Delightful holiday season!

 

2 thoughts on “Epiphany

Leave a Reply

