Oranges

I was thrilled when we moved into our house six 1/2 years ago to find we had both a lemon and an orange tree that bear an abundance of pretty tasty fruit.  There is only one teensy problem.  While I like oranges I seldom eat them.  I have always preferred clementines (or tangerines as they were called for most of my life).  I finally realized it isn’t the taste but how hard oranges are to peel.

Yesterday I had an epiphany, why not eat oranges like grapefruit?  For an after school snack I cut an orange in half and segmented it like a grapefruit.  Easy-peasy.  My son ate half and I ate half and then we went and picked another orange and shared that one too.  And we shared another one with breakfast this morning.

So much quicker and less messy than trying to peel our thick rinded oranges.  Is this one of those secret tips that everyone knew about but me?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I love the idea of going out to the yard and picking a piece of fruit to eat right then!

 

One thought on “Oranges

  1. I usually cut them into quarters or eighths and eat them that way. Or I cut them in half and eat them without a spoon: You suck out all the juice you possibly can then turn it inside out. Fun! But now that you mention it, I have been craving grapefruit lately.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

