The Month of March

I have always liked the idea of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) held in November. The goal is to write 50,000 words, typically the first draft of a novel. But November doesn’t work for me. My mind is filled with Thanksgiving and Christmas shopping. My son has two holiday breaks, Veteran’s Day and five days at Thanksgiving. We typically have at least two football games to attend and well, you get the idea.

But March is a nice quiet month. So I am doing my own NaNoWriMo.  I am not going to work on a novel but rather an interconnected short story idea that has been floating around my brain for some time now.  I have pages of notes and ideas to get me started and we will just have to see how it goes.

I am also borrowing Anne Butera’s (of My Giant Strawberry ) idea of a creative retreat. She always has the best ideas!  I am hoping taking a bit of a blogging/internet break will help me focus on my writing.

So my goals for March are to write eight short stories and stay off the internet except for the  bare minimal household essential tasks like paying bills and reading e-mails from my son’s school.

I will write one short post around mid-month and let you know how I am succeeding.  (Not even going to think about failing.)

In the meantime enjoy the approach of Spring!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I miss seeing the tulips peek up through the snow but this small vase of pink cheered me right up.
2 thoughts on “The Month of March

Leave a Reply

