I Miss Weather

I have a solid four to six weeks of nothing but sun and heat ahead of me. I know there are people who would love that. Not me. I am a four seasons girl and I love all types of weather. It is hard to truly enjoy sunshine if you never get any rain.  This is what I have to look forward to:

DAY DESCRIPTION HIGH / LOW PRECIP WIND HUMIDITY
TODAY

JUN 13

Sunny 95°62°  0% NW 10 mph 5%
WED

JUN 14

Sunny 104°/67°  0% NNW 10 mph 4%
THU

JUN 15

Sunny 106/°68°  0% NW 11 mph 3%
FRI

JUN 16

Sunny 105°/70°  0% WNW 11 mph 4%
SAT

JUN 17

Sunny 106°/72°  0% WNW 10 mph 6%
SUN

JUN 18

Sunny 109°/75°  0% NW 10 mph 7%
MON

JUN 19

Sunny

115°/79°

 0% NNE 9 mph 5%
TUE

JUN 20

Sunny 114°/79°  0% NNW 12 mph 6%
WED

JUN 21

Sunny 112°/80°  0% NNW 13 mph 8%
THU

JUN 22

Sunny 111°/81°  0% NW 13 mph 11%
FRI

JUN 23

Sunny 109°/81°  0% NW 13 mph 10%
SAT

JUN 24

Sunny 107°/80°  0% N 12 mph 11%
SUN

JUN 25

Sunny 105°/80°  0% W 11 mph 14%
MON

JUN 26

Sunny 103°/79°  0% W 13 mph 16%
TUE

JUN 27

Sunny 104°/79°  0% WSW 12 mph 17%

Those are Fahrenheit temperatures, for all my Celsius friends just trust me, it is going to be hot!

(In all fairness I believe this is a bit extreme even for us. I would also like to add that once you get over 104° or 105° all that hot feels the same to me.)

 

Sentinel Dome at Yosemite just a nine days ago.  For all those in need of cooling.

I miss watching the Weather Channel. Oh, I still check in from time to time but I no longer have a need to watch it.  Even when the monsoons start there is no way to accurately predict when they are actually going to hit your neighborhood until maybe ten minutes before they do and by then you have figured it out yourself.   Tucson and Pima County are too large and sprawled to get any accurate information for somewhere as specific as my house.  I find watching the Weather Channel just makes me homesick or roll my eyes a lot. Really, 90° is a heat wave?  Ha! That’s a cool down for us. Plus the southwest is seldom on the weather channel until after we get weather. Not enough population and too unpredictable. Once Jim Cantore was across the street from me at Sabino Canyon Rec Area reporting on all this monsoonal rain we were supposed to get.  Not a drop fell here in the foothills!  It all fell to the south which is pretty typical.

For those in more well rounded climates think of this as my version of mid-January, weeks of horrid weather staring me in the face.  But up North one usually catches a break for a day or two.  Snow can be fun and with the cold I can enjoy curling up next to the fire with hot cocoa and a book. There is nothing fun about the heat. But I am trying my best to endure. (I have yet to find a bright side to summers here so endure with grace is the best I can do.)

My attempts to make the best of things include swimming early in the morning and late in the day to avoid the worst of the heat and sun. (I could not believe it either the first time I said “It’s too hot to swim right now.”) My son and I took advantage of  today’s “cooler” temperature to stock up on ice cream and popsicles. I have a stack of library books and many options DVR’d.  All of our ceiling fans work.  As of right now I have nothing on the calendar that will force me to leave the air-conditioned comfort of home next week.  That is the best I can do.

Hetch-Hetchy reservoir (part of Yosemite.)

Un-Happy Heat Wave. 😦

Leave a Reply

