The 2017 Great Heat Wave Saga

With all the rain and tropical systems and storms you may not realize it but we are having weather in the southwest too.

It is no secret that I am not a fan of living in the southwest but I have been trying  to make the best of things.  This week I was a bit dubious of the crazy hot temperatures forecasted but it turns out crazy hot was the correct forecast.  And then I had one of my mini-epiphanies: this is extreme weather.  This is my blizzard or hurricane!

So I acted accordingly.  I made sure we were well supplied with toilet paper and popsicles. I made a rough plan for my son and I.  We would each have the morning to do our own things.  Computer time for him, laundry, housework and blogging for me.  After lunch we would do some sort of cleaning project, work on a puzzle, play games, watch movies. We would hunker down and wait out the storm, er hot air.

Day 1

Whadda you know, the forecasters were right!  We topped out at 114° between 3:30 and 5:00pm

On Monday I swam from 8:00am to 8:45am taking advantage of the still shaded pool.  I had all the laundry on the line by 9:00am and in the house by 11:15am.  At 11:15 it was already over 100°!  It was time to hunker down.

After lunch my son and I completed our project for the day, sorting out his bookshelf.  We came up with 3 bags to take to Bookman’s next week  after this spell of ferocious weather passes.  Then we worked on this puzzle:

 

Yup, a puzzle of nothing but ice cream!

 

Perfect for the whole family with three different size pieces.

Followed by watching what has to be one of the worst sea creature movies ever, “The Creature From the Haunted Sea“.  The creature had ping pong balls for eyes and regular swim flippers for feet. The plot line suited such a bad creature.  The movies most redeeming feature was the fact that it was just over an hour long. Whew.  Maybe it would have helped if I knew it was supposed to be both a comedy and a thriller? (Probably not.)

 

Then we put together dinner.  I decided that in the event of extreme weather (as long as one has power) comfort food is called for.  We went with meatloaf, mashed potatoes and broccoli.

And then the pool beckoned for my son and his neighbor friends. And after the neighbor kids left I got in the pool and paddled around watching the day end.

Day 2: The Summer Solstice

Pretty much a repeat of Day 1 but with clouds.  Odd clouds.  It never felt like rain and it is unusual to have clouds in the morning.  During the summer you may see a few puffy white clouds floating around in the morning but monsoon rain clouds don’t roll in until late afternoon or evening.

But today we had flat whitish gray clouds pretty much covering the whole sky most of the day. But it didn’t affect the heat, still 102° at 11:00am when I brought in the laundry.  We topped out again at 114°,  but by 4:00pm it felt like storms might be edging in.  The air went from dead calm to breezy and the temperature plummeted to 110°!

I am probably one of few people in North America who is celebrating that the days will now be getting shorter.  Less sunshine, yeah! To celebrate I decided ice cream sundaes for dinner and to make them extra special I baked a pan of brownies. For dessert we had leftover pizza.

Then we waited for the winds to die down a bit, peering anxiously out the windows to evaluate the clouds and look for rain or lightening.  We didn’t see either so then we took our traditional Summer Solstice night swim. When we exited the pool at 8:45pm (full dark here, no gloaming time in the southwest) it was 100° and we could see stars.

Day 3: Officially Summer

9:00am:  pool temperature 92°, air temperature 98°

Found in the bottom of the pool:

That would be a chlorine bleached scorpion.  And the reason I always check to make sure any “leaves” on the bottom of the pool are leaves! I find two or three a summer.

Seen above the pool: seven F-16’s from the Air National Guard unit.  Obviously trying to get the day’s training sorties in early. (Sorry I didn’t get a picture but I was, you know, in the pool.)

Noon:  Air temperature, 109.5°.   Despite the morning and evening excursions outside to the pool I was starting to feel a bit cabin feverish.  And I really wanted a bagel. Did I dare make a run to the grocery store down the street?  I dared.

Hey, what were all these people doing out and about?  Didn’t they know they were supposed to be hunkered down?  I hoped they all weren’t craving bagels too!  Whew, scored one sesame seed and one blueberry bagel. Home safe again.

2:00pm:  Movie of the day:  “The Karate Kid”.  How awesome and totally 80’s! My son, “This is just like ‘Rocky’ “.  Good catch son!

5:00pm: Games played: Kerplunk and three months of Payday.

6:00pm:  For dinner I decided on brats and corn on the cob cooked on the grill. Air temperature had dropped to 104° with monsoon looking clouds and wind.  That is okay because my husband does all the grilling.  I stayed inside and set the table.

Practice monsoon clouds, no thunder, no lightening and no rain fell.

 

Day Four:  The Last Day

Sure there are three more days of pretty darn hot still ahead but who am I kidding?  That is how the whole summer is. But this is the last day of our heat wave saga.

8:00am:  air temperature 91°, water temperature 92°.  I drag myself into the pool and do a few low energy laps.  I need a break.

Pool’s eye view.

I float,

listening to the cicadas play their ode to heat

birds exchanging morning gossip.

High above  F-16’s roar west

eager to escape the rising sun.

2:00pm:  Movie of the day:  “Young Frankenstein” .  I laughed a lot and small child frequently looked puzzled, especially at the end.  You’ll get it when you’re older kid.

4:30pm:  Looks like we are topping out at a windy (but no clouds) 108° today.  The Heat Wave is over!  To show solidarity with my southeast rain soaked brethren I have decided to make coconut shrimp (Trader Joe’s), oven fries and cole slaw for dinner.  We really need key lime pie for dessert.  Do I dare venture out?  Nah, I’ll enjoy my last hours of hunkering down!

There you have it, how I survived ‘The Great Heat Wave of 2017″!!!

Ah the pool, the wonderful pool!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The 2017 Great Heat Wave Saga

Leave a Reply

