Two Summers

“You don’t need to have the life you want to enjoy the life you have.” *

This has been my motto the last few months. I am still missing my four seasons life terribly but I am learning to make the best of the life I have now.  As one can imagine summers in the desert southwest feel incredibly long but as the monsoon rains started I had an epiphany.  We actually have two summers here.

Summer Part One I like to think of as “normal” summer.  It lasts from sometime in May until sometime in July. The weather is hot and dry and sunny. The pool is warm and it is too hot to do much outdoors other than swim.  So we spend a lot of time in the pool. We usually have at least one camping trip and/or our big vacation during this time. It feels like a normal summer.

Then sometime in July the weather changes.  The monsoon part of summer starts. More clouds, less heat. It usually takes a few weeks after the initial appearance of clouds until we get rain at my house (except for this year) but late afternoon and evening thunder still keep us out of the pool. The temperature drops but the humidity rises. It feels like it has been summer forever, because it has.  Summer Part One, “normal” summer is over.  This is the start of Summer Part Two.

I actually pulled over to take this photo. How cool it is to see rain falling.

In addition to monsoon weather Summer Part Two includes getting ready to go back to school.  My son resumes school the second week of August so the end of July has us buying supplies and new clothes.  It always felt weird doing this in the middle of summer but this year we are doing it in Part II of summer.  A completely different season from Part I of summer!

Amazing how the mind can adapt.  If it takes me creating a whole new season to survive desert life so be it.  I do think I need to come up with a more creative name for Summer Part II, keeping Summer Part I as just “Summer”.  Any suggestions?

 

*  The quote is from “Julia Child Rules,  Lessons on Savoring Life”  by Karen Karbo.

2 thoughts on “Two Summers

Leave a Reply

