A Sense of Purpose

“One of the standard-issue life lessons, which I’m sure I’ve posited along with everyone else who thinks about these things, is that one’s life is enriched immeasurably if you’re able to find an abiding passion. You don’t have to be good at it, it just has to be something that would consume every waking hour if you let it.” **

I, of course, am totally aware of the idea of finding one’s passion but the second sentence gave me pause.  You don’t have to be good at it?? I assumed that one would have an innate ability, a natural talent for one’s bliss.  Sure, maybe you take a class or two or read some books to polish up your gift. You practice, a lot.  But right from the get go you would do something, love it and be good at it.  You would know this was where your heart lies. Hence the reason I am so lacking a sense of purpose these days. I have been thinking about things all wrong!

I like to do lots of different things but I am not particularly good at any of them.  I dabble.  I brush the surface of various hobbies.  I try lots of things once or twice, find I am not exceptionally good at them, and figure they are not my heart’s content.  And I move on.


A cool plant I saw on my meander yesterday up at Summerhaven, AZ.

But now?  Well, I am in a quandary.  How do I know which hobby is the one I should truly focus on?   Which one will give me the sense of purpose I crave in the morning?  I have been doing some cogitating. Do I have to pick just one?  Can I rotate through a few choices?  Now that the pressure is off will my hobbies feel different?  Easier to enjoy now that I know I don’t have to be good at them?

As of this moment I do not have the answers.  But I will be looking at my old hobbies with new eyes and trying new ones with renewed enthusiasm.

I took this photo yesterday on my way down the mountain. (Perfectly safe, I was stopped at an overlook!) You can see Thimble Peak, center left in the distance.  From my house I can see the other side of Thimble Peak and for some reason this always thrills me.

**   From “Julia Child Rules, Lessons on Savoring Life”  by Karen Karbo.

I find it comforting to recognize that Julia Child wasn’t a natural cook.  She wasn’t even a good cook when she started.  And she didn’t find her bliss until she was a full fledged grown-up. I still have time!  I met a woman yesterday that took up sailing in her sixties. She joined a club and found she loved crewing for races.  So many possibilities in my future.

Leave a Reply

