Last Word in the Dictionary Day

I have been looking forward to this post since the beginning of the challenge. Not because I am happy the challenge is over (more like relieved) but because I am really curious as to what the last words in my dictionaries are!

The three dictionaries in my home. (I have one more in our trailer.)

Paperback Merriam Webster (2004):

zygote – a cell formed by the union of two sexual cells

That is the last word in the regular section. But then there are three specialty sections (Foreign words and phrases, Biographical names and Geographical names). So the last word in the book as a whole is Zurich. A city in Switzerland.

The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (Second Edition 1990):

zyzzyva – a tropical weevil

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1981):

zyzzogeton – genus of leafhoppers

 

I love how all three dictionaries had different last words.  Two of the three words were new to me.

Does anyone have a different last word in their dictionary?

7 thoughts on “Last Word in the Dictionary Day

  1. Oh, I like how you handled this one. 🙂
    My “New Shorter Oxford English Dictionary” has zythum – A drink made in ancient times from fermented malt, esp. in Egypt.
    Congratulations on making it through the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have 3 dictionaries handy. The last word in two of them is Zymurgy: the branch of chemistry dealing with the process of fermentation, as in brewing, etc. In the other one the last word is Zulu: a member of the Bantu people of South Africa; or their language.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The last word in my 1958 “The American College Encyclopedic Dictionary is “Patras.” hahaha… It’s such a huge dictionary, it was divided into two books. We had both books when I was a child, but I only inherited one… “A to Patras.” Not sure what happened to the other book.

    But in my complete dictionary (Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary) the last Z word is “Zwolle” … city E Netherlands.

    Trudy @ Reel Focus
    Food in Film: Zagnut

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment