Scurvy Prevention Day

This is the holiday that started the whole A to Z made up holidays theme. I don’t think scurvy is around much anymore though I did see a case of it on “Doc Martin“.

Scurvy from Wikipedia:

Scurvy is a disease resulting from a lack of vitamin C.[1] Early symptoms include weakness, feeling tired, curly hair, and sore arms and legs.[1][2] Without treatment, decreased red blood cells, gum disease, and bleeding from the skin may occur.[1] As scurvy worsens there can be poor wound healing, personality changes, and finally death from infection or bleeding.[2]

Scurvy is caused by not enough vitamin C in the diet.[1] It typically takes at least a month of little to no vitamin C before symptoms occur.[1][2] In modern times, it occurs most commonly in people with mental disorders, unusual eating habits, alcoholism, and old people who live alone.

 

Curly hair??? Really?  That has got to be the strangest symptom of a disease I have ever seen. It is probably best to get a perm if you really want curly hair.

So today make sure you get your vitamin C. Shouldn’t be too hard, it is in a lot of foods.  Besides your citrus family strawberries, peppers, kale and broccoli are high in vitamin C.

Let us know what you ate to prevent scurvy today. I think I will go for some strawberries!  Tis the season.

Hello!

10 thoughts on “Scurvy Prevention Day

  1. Since I enjoy my vegetables, this is hopefully something I do not have to worry about. I had heard a number of the symptoms but not the curly hair. Thanks for informing me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment